You are here
Home > Articles > A Q & A with Lauren Ramaekers

A Q & A with Lauren Ramaekers

Lauren Ramaekers went on the Dominican Republic service trip last year so I asked her some questions about how it affected her.

Q: What was your favorite part about going on the DR trip last year?
A: I really enjoyed visiting our camp and getting to know the people as well as how they live their everyday lives so simply.

Q: How did the service trip last year affect you?
A: It helped me to appreciate my days more fully. I came back on fire to live a simple life and to work towards being able to recognize God working through everyday things. The trip provided me a better understanding of how we don’t need much to be able to live a fulfilled life as long as we are surrounded by people we love and show love towards others.

Q: When did you decide you wanted to go on the trip again?
A: I decided that I wanted to go on the next service trip a couple days after the last one. I recognized how much of an effect it had on my life and wanted to be able to experience it again and see what else I could get out of it.

Q: What do you hope to gain from going on the up coming service trip?
A: I want to gain a better understanding of how my future career can help third-world countries.

Q: What do you think is the best part about service?
A: The best part is being able to sacrifice your own time in order to help others and in return being able to learn from them. There is something very rewarding about putting yourself in the vulnerable position of entering another country and culture that makes helps you learn more about yourself than you ever could.

Q: How does service bring you closer to your faith?
A: Service allows me to better understand what it means to look at the world through God’s eyes and do what Jesus would do. My last experience really helped me to notice when God is working in my life, be able to communicate my response to it, and learn from that experience.

For more articles go to mercymonarchs.org

Molly Vankat
Hi! My name is Molly. I’m a freshman in high school. I love Singing, Acting and watching Netflix. I live in South Omaha with My Mom, My Dad, My younger brother, one of My three older sisters, My Grandma, and Our family dog Penny!
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Top